Men's Track & Field Postseason Award Winners Announced

Men's Track & Field Postseason Award Winners Announced

ATLANTA - The SAA announced the 2017 Men's Track & Field All-Conference award winners and, after voting by the league's head coaches, Jamal Watkins of Birmingham-Southern captured his second straight Track Athlete of the Year honor. Renn Eason also captured his second straight Field Athlete of the Year award and Zech Montogmery of Hendrix earned Newcomer of the Year status. Kenneth Cox of Birmingham-Southern earned his second consecutive SAA Coach of the Year nod from his voting peers.

A junior from Hampton, Ga., Jamal Watkins (pictured at right) backed up his breakout campaign in 2016 with an equally impressive 2017 en route to winning another Track Athlete of the Year honor. Watkins defended his titles this season in the 100 (10.47), 200 (21.52), and ran a leg on the winning 4 x 100m relay (41.30). His performances all season and at the SAA Meet were conference leading times and also rank among the NCAA's Top 5.

A junior from Memphis, Tenn., Rhodes' Renn Eason defended his Field Athlete of the Year title with another outstanding performance at the 2017 SAA Championships. Eason concluded his indoor season as the NCAA D-III Champion in the High Jump. In his outdoor campaign, he claimed both the high jump and triple jump titles at the SAA meet. He also finished fourth in the long jump. Through the conference championships, he is ranked 1st in the high jump (2.03), second in the triple jump (14.00) and third in the long jump (6.63).

A freshman from Fort Smith, Ark., Zech Montgomery immediately made an impact for a Hendrix Track & Field program on the rise. In just his first collegiate meet, Montgomery set the Warriors' school record in the 400 meters. He went on to re-establish the school's top time in the 400 at the 2017 SAA T&F Championships on his way to claiming the title in 49.35 seconds. As the meet came to a close, Montgomery led off the Warriors' 4x400 relay team that captured the gold and cemented his Newcomer of the Year status.

In his eighth season at the helm, Kenneth Cox guided the Panthers to their second consecutive SAA Men's Track &Field crown by a dominating margin of over 80 points. He coached up nine individual title winners from the SAA Championships as the Panthers racked up twelve All-Conference performances.  A native of North Carolina, Cox attended UNC (Chapel Hill) where he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication Studies in 1999. He was a member of the Men's Track and Field Team (competing in the 60m and 100m) and also walked on to the Tar Heel football team in 1997.

2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Award Winners

Men's Track Athlete of the Year: Jamal Watkins of Birmingham-Southern
Men's Field Athlete of the Year: Renn Eason of Rhodes
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Zech Montgomery of Hendrix
Men's Coach of the Year: Kenneth Cox of Birmingham-Southern

2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference First Team
Jalon Hollie (Birmingham-Southern)
Timothy McOmber (Birmingham-Southern)
Damian Mitchell (Birmingham-Southern)
Kameron Morgan (Birmingham-Southern)
Christopher Roberts (Birmingham-Southern)
Amir Sims (Birmingham-Southern)
Michael Snow (Birmingham-Southern)
Andrew Triplett (Birmingham-Southern)
Jamal Watkins (Birmingham-Southern)
Henry Gunner (Centre)
Jared Lincoln (Hendrix)
Zech Montgomery (Hendrix)
Tucker Pratt (Hendrix)
Michael Spainhour (Hendrix)
Josh Williams (Hendrix)
Renn Eason (Rhodes)
Ridge Davis (Sewanee)
Will DuBose (Sewanee)
Ash Midyett (Sewanee)

2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Second Team
Mitchell Brice (Berry)
Rory Fleming (Berry)
George Saboura (Berry)
Javon Jones (Birmingham-Southern)
Stone Fentalaff (Centre)
Tristen Morrow (Centre)
Rhoman James (Centre)
Matthew Ramirez (Hendrix)
Asael Hernandez (Millsaps)
Rodrigo Meade (Oglethorpe)
Omari Miller (Oglethorpe)
Jamal Willis (Oglethorpe)
Malik Willis (Oglethorpe)
Jay Baker (Rhodes)
Spencer Fields (Rhodes)
Toler Freyaldenhoven (Rhodes)
Tej Suber (Rhodes)
Dominic Voehler (Rhodes)

2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Honorable Mention
Ethan Caldwell (Berry)
Eugenio Fabrizio (Berry)
Will Knowlton (Berry)
Cameron Luster (Birmingham-Southern)
Justin Peifer (Birmingham-Southern)
William Blackford (Centre)
Nathan Andress (Hendrix)
Sam Byrd (Hendrix)
Shaquille Grant (Hendrix)
Wes Hance (Hendrix)
Ben Griffith (Rhodes)
Kelly McGee (Rhodes)
Will Raines (Rhodes)
Alex Richards (Rhodes)

The All-Conference Teams were decided by results at the 2017 SAA Track & Field Championships. Winning an event earned automatic placement on the First Team, whether done individually or on a relay team. A second place finish in an event at the Championships qualified student-athletes for placement on the Second team while third place results garnered Honorable Mention status.


View this release as a pdf