SAA Announces Fall Sports All-Sportsmanship Teams

(ATLANTA, Ga.) –The Southern Athletic Association (SAA) has announced the 2012 Fall Sports All-Sportsmanship Teams and 50 student-athletes among the league’s eight full-time members and one affiliate member (Transylvania University) received recognition. Formed in 2011, the SAA places a special emphasis on good sportsmanship and fair play amongst all competitors.

2012 Men’s Cross Country All-Sportsmanship Team
Lucas Stocks of Berry College (senior from Crawford, Ga.)
John White of Birmingham-Southern (freshman from Springville, Ala.)
J.J. Crumpler of Centre College (senior from Mason, Ohio)
Stephen Borutta of Hendrix College (senior from Webster Groves, Mo.)
Will Napier of Millsaps College (junior from Corinth, Miss.)
Jake Godwin of Oglethorpe University (sophomore from Huntsville, Ala.)
Matt Dsida of Rhodes College (freshman from Winnetka, Ill.)
Tyler Wilcox of Sewanee (senior from Yorktown Heights, N.Y.)

2012 Women’s Cross Country All-Sportsmanship Team
Lauren Nation of Berry College (senior from Lawrenceville, Ga.)
Kelsey Holdbrooks of Birmingham-Southern (freshman from Winfield, Ala.)
Cristin Palmer of Centre College (sophomore from Louisville, Ky.)
Leah Bishop of Hendrix College (freshman from Durham, N.C.)
Susan Fasano of Millsaps College (sophomore from Baton Rouge, La.)
Khadija Nisar of Oglethorpe University (junior from Germantown, Tenn.)
Claire Coulter of Rhodes College (sophomore from Houston, Texas)
Sarah Haroldson of Sewanee (senior from New Bern, N.C.)

2012 Field Hockey All-Sportsmanship Team
Leah Storch of Centre College (junior from Louisville, Ky.)
Kelly Rappe of Hendrix College (senior from Fort Collins, Colo.)
Jordan Robinson of Rhodes College (senior from Houston, Texas)
Molly Kennedy of Sewanee (senior from Timonium, Md.)
Macauley Schifferdecker of Transylvania University (sophomore from Louisville, Ky.)

2012 Football All-Sportsmanship Team
Robert Nelson of Birmingham-Southern (senior from Midfield, Ala.)
Jason Osterman of Centre College (senior from Monroe, Ohio)
Kegan Joplis of Millsaps College (senior from Coppell, Texas)
Will Rikard of Rhodes College (senior from Arlington, Tenn.)
Murphy Walters of Sewanee (senior from Birmingham, Ala.)

2012 Men’s Soccer All-Sportsmanship Team
Kyle Fitting of Berry College (junior from Acworth, Ga.)
Jarred Brookins of Birmingham-Southern (senior from Vestavia Hills, Ala.)
Miles Hill of Centre College (sophomore from Cincinnati, Ohio)
Rob Weingold of Hendrix College (senior from Jonesboro, Ark.)
Stephen Andrieu of Millsaps College (senior from New Orleans, La.)
Ben Robertson of Oglethorpe University (senior from Boone, N.C.)
Michael Scharf of Rhodes College (freshman from Wildwood, Mo.)
Sylar Holmes of Sewanee (freshman from Chattanooga, Tenn.)

2012 Women’s Soccer all-Sportsmanship Team
Blair Shupenko of Berry College (junior from Miami, Fla.)
Melissa Sweeney of Birmingham-Southern (senior from Frederick, Md.)
Kelsey Lloyd of Centre College (senior from Newport, Tenn.)
Mel Roach of Hendrix College (senior from Russellville, Ark.)
Kaleigh Redhead of Millsaps College (junior from Baton Rouge, La.)
Lisanne Edelman of Oglethorpe University (junior from Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Taylor Weidow of Rhodes College (sophomore from McKinney, Texas)
Samantha Hutton of Sewanee (senior from Winterhaven, Fla.)

2012 Volleyball All-Sportsmanship Team
Sarah Steffan of Berry College (junior from Boca Grande, Fla.)
Sarassa Burrus of Birmingham-Southern (junior from Bulverde, Texas)
Lydia Prevost of Centre College (junior from Knoxville, Tenn.)
Melissa Clement of Hendrix College (senior from Rogers, Ark.)
Sarah Zito of Millsaps College (senior from Baton Rouge, La.)
Lisa Inglis of Oglethorpe University (sophomore from Bradenton, Fla.)
Emily Clark of Rhodes College (sophomore from Hudson, Ohio)
Caroline Montgomery of Sewanee (freshman from Houston, Texas)

The Southern Athletic Association (SAA) is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III and is committed to fostering athletic competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the southeastern region of the United States. The SAA members include Berry College, Birmingham‐Southern College, Centre College, Hendrix College, Millsaps College, Oglethorpe University, Rhodes College and Sewanee: The University of the South. The University of Chicago and Washington University in St. Louis are affiliate football members. Formed in 2011, the SAA began play with the 2012-13 season.