Stubits of Sewanee named USILA All-American and named to Senior All-Star Game roster

Stubits of Sewanee named USILA All-American and named to Senior All-Star Game roster

BALTIMORE, Md. - The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA), has named Sewanee men's lacrosse senior faceoff specialist Ryan Stubits as an All-American for NCAA Division III. In addition, he will play in the 2019 USILA Senior All-Star Game on Friday evening.

The Millica Hill, N.J. native will wear number 20 for the South team, as he becomes the first Sewanee student-athlete in program history to be named to the team.

The 2019 USILA Senior All-Star game sponsored by Warrior is scheduled for Friday, May 24. The Division III game is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. CT. and a combined Division I/II game will commence at 7:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. CT. Both contests will take place at Tierney Field at the US Lacrosse Headquarters (2 Loveton Circle, Sparks, MD). Admission to both games is free.

Fans can also watch the event on the Lax Sports Network. Click on the "Live Stream" link above for more information.

In addition, Stubits was selected as an Honorable Mention All-American at the faceoff in 2019.

During the season, the 2019 All-Southern Athletic Association (SAA) First Team selection won a school-record best 282 faceoffs, good for fifth-best in all of NCAA Division III. He also finished 14th in the nation in percentage, taking 68.6% of the opportunities.

The two-time All-SAA selection wraps up his career with 721 faceoff wins in his career, a conference and school record, and 377 ground balls in 65 career games.

For more information on the Southern Athletic Association, please visit www.SAA-Sports.com. You can also follow the SAA on Twitter and Instagram.