Owen, Sherman, and Shackelford headline All-SAA Women's Tennis awards

Owen, Sherman, and Shackelford headline All-SAA Women's Tennis awards

2019 All-SAA Women's Tennis Awards

ATLANTA (May 6, 2019) – The Southern Athletic Association (SAA) announced the 2019 All-SAA Women's Tennis awards, Monday. The award winners were selected exclusively by the league's head coaches and conference office.

Catherine Owen of Sewanee was named SAA Player of the Year. Katharine Sherman of Centre was named the SAA Newcomer of the Year while Sewanee Head Coach Conchie Shackelford was named the SAA Coach of the Year.

Owen continued her great career for Sewanee this spring. Playing at No. 1 singles, Owen was 10-5 overall and 4-0 in SAA play. Along with two nationally-ranked wins, she was a perfect 3-0 against regionally-ranked opponents. Along with winning her last six matches, Owen enters the postseason with an 11-7 record in dual matches in doubles action.

Playing with teammate Ellie Czura, Owen finished 4-1 in doubles in SAA play.

In her first season, Sherman won six singles matches at No. 1. She also added 11 doubles victories playing at No. 2 and No. 3.

Finally, Shackelford earned her fourth SAA Coach of the Year honor (2013, 2014, 2015, 2019). The winningest coach in Sewanee and SAA history, Shackelford led the Tigers to their seventh straight SAA Regular Season and Tournament Championships. Sewanee finished the regular season with a 17-8 overall record and a perfect 6-0 mark in SAA play. Since the league was founded, Sewanee has never been defeated in a conference women's tennis match.

This spring, the Tigers' only losses came against nationally-ranked teams in the top-11 or against NCAA Division II opponent Carson-Newman.

For a complete list of honorees, please click the link above. 

For more information on the Southern Athletic Association, please visit www.SAA-Sports.com. You can also follow the SAA on Twitter and Instagram.

About the SAA

The SAA is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III and is committed to fostering athletic competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the southeastern region of the United States. The SAA core members include Berry College, Birmingham-Southern College, Centre College, Hendrix College, Millsaps College, Oglethorpe University, Rhodes College, and the University of the South.